Do you have an essay on this topic? Please post it in the comments section. One of our IELTS trainers will evaluate your essay from an examiner’s point of view and reply to the comment. This service is completely FREE of cost.

Work is considered as the most crucial aspect for the vast majority of people and without any achievement in it, their lives will be meaningless. Thus, a myriad of people rigorously climbs their ways up on the career ladder to be successful. In my opinion, however, an excellent career does not and can not be the sole variable in defining a person's success. In this essay, I will elaborate on two reasons why I do not agree with this opinion. First, having a job is not the only thing we do in our existence. Although it might contribute to the biggest portion of our daily activities, we should remember that there are plenty of activities outside work that we could do, such as sports, quality time with family, or even volunteering. One's failure in climbing a ladder or delivering a project at work does not determine whether one is successful or not. For instance, there are numerous people who get famous due to their non-profit project rather than their main job. Additionally, there is no correlation between having a meaningful life and a successful job. I believe that it could be attained by making a contribution and impact on others. Work is merely one of the ways we can contribute to society, it is definitely not the only way. We could create an impact simply by helping the impoverished society, for example, or to preserve our environment. Therefore, there are a plethora of opportunities we can create or participate in to be able to have a meaningful life. In conclusion, I do not agree with the opinion that said our lives will be meaningless without excelling at work. I think having a successful job is not the only measurement of success because life is not only about a career, but about other paths we took in our journeys as well.