Do you feel the entry of a Wal-Mart Supercenter in a small trade area (<200, 000 population) is positive or negative for the quality of life in that area? Defend your answer after taking a positive or negative position.

An increasing number of people choose Wal-Mart as the best shopping site instead of local stores. From my perspective, it is a positive development that can save their time and money and create jobs. With regards to Individuals, the impact that Wal-Mart has had on each individual person has clear advantages. Firstly, Products from different brands and countries are available in the same place whereas, before the development of Wal-Mart, people have to search for it at different locations and at the same time they have to travel to nearby cities to get that product. Secondly, the arrival of Wal- Mart provided jobs for people and a more diverse opportunity for local merchants by adapting to the new business environment. The company also contributes to its local economy. Wal-Mart has also helped the local economy by providing good quality products at low prices. In addition, company strategies of keeping low prices and deep discounting attract customers the most. Further, Wal-Mart intended to implement deep discounting which was designed to provide 40- 60 % discounted prices for customers. Moreover, Wal-Mart created more jobs than other local companies. At Wal-Mart, store employees are called "associates. " In addition, in order to promote unity, the company publishes "Wal-Mart World, " an internal magazine for its associates. The company offers generous financial rewards for employees by means of profit-sharing plans such as stock-purchase options. Furthermore, the company provides comprehensive training programs for all employees. To conclude, Walmart may seem to disturb the local community but for their own good. They help small towns by building infrastructure which is necessary for development.