Do you believe that self-driving cars will become common in the near future? Why or why not? Support your answer with reasons and examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Autonomous cars, vehicles driven by an informatic system, could be an example of technological innovation that could change our everyday life. In my opinion, they represent a solution to risks such as distractions and stress while driving, which will become popular in the near future, despite drawbacks such as traffic congestion and pollution problems. Advocates of self-driving cars tout their many advantages. First of all, safety is one of the main positive effects. While driving, it is difficult to stay focused and pay attention, especially at night and in the morning. Almost every car accident happens as a result of this kind of distractions, which may easily decrease drivers’ concentration. Autonomous vehicles eliminate human errors because of an informatic system that controls many aspects of the car, such as its velocity and direction. Moreover, driving could be stressful for some people. Commuters, often, arrive tired and less productive at work because of this. However, with an autonomous automobile, there is the opportunity to relax and to use the time of the drive in many ways. For instance, women could do their make-up on the car. Finally, self-driving cars could give more autonomy to those who cannot drive, like disabled people. It is very hard for a person to totally depend on someone else, and these vehicles represent a partial solution to this problem. To conclude, I believe that autonomous automobiles will become a fundamental solution to commuters and people who travel often. Because of the many advantages, the business of self-driving vehicles will increasingly grow in the next years and take over the car market.