Universities should give the same amount of money to their student’s sports activities as they give to their university libraries. Use specific examples and reasons to support your answer.

There is a belief that high school programmes should include voluntary community service as a mandatory part of the curriculum. Though I believe it’s just the right attitude to be instilled in the youngsters these days, but I also hold the thought that the students can be given a choice to do so. To begin with, it’s an irrefutable fact that our community has served us for a very long time in various ways and now it’s time for us to give back to the community. So, including community service in the school programme will definitely inculcate universal values among the students and help them understand its requirement. Undoubtedly, these young students are the ones who can make this world a better place to live in, so this approach will help build future citizens of the world. Furthermore, it’ll not only help in making a majority of students learn these essential values but, also help us safeguard our future. That said, although this approach does help instill positive attitude among the high school children towards the community but, at the same time, it also deters the autonomy of a learner. This is because, anything made compulsory, makes it pressurizing for a child to learn something which he doesn’t really wish to. For instance, there may be a child who has other academic priorities at that point in time, and he doesn’t want to devote his time and energy in such programmes. So, instead of making anything obligatory, a child will learn at his best, if he’s given a choice of what or how to learn. In conclusion, while such programmes and plans for students help them understand the need to serve the society, making it compulsory for them doesn’t leave much room for them to explore their true potential. So, I believe that instead of making it compulsory, the students could be given a choice to learn what they wish to.