most advertisements make product seem much better than they really are.

In the past, a typical family consisted of a father who went out to work and a mother who stayed at home and looked after the children. Nowadays, it is the norm for both parents to work. This situation can affect children, both positively and negatively. Some people think that the children of working parents are in an advantageous position where their parents are able to afford mere luxuries such as new clothes, video games or mobile phones. Proponents of this view argue that children are able to enjoy and experience more of life due to their parents' extra wealth, for example, by going on foreign holidays. On the other hand, however, there are those who claim that when both parents work, their children do not get enough support and attention; meaning that the children might not do as well at school because there is no one at home to provide support with such things as homework or exam revision. The absence of a parent at home could make it easier for children to get involved in such things as drugs or undertake drinking. When I was growing up, both my parents worked and I was always well provided for. On the other hand, I think that it would sometimes have been better if I could have seen more of my parents. In conclusion, I believe that we cannot change the fact that both parents have to work nowadays. It is not an ideal situation, but if parents make time for their children in the evenings and at the weekends, then the children will not suffer in any way. It must be stated that the extra income generated by both parents working, makes for a much higher standard of living which benefits the whole family.