it is better to have broad knowledge ofmany academic subjects than to specialize inone specific subject. Use specific reasons and examples tosupport your answer.

To answer this question it seems to be necessary to make clear, for what aspect of life the knowledge in general should be good. On the one hand you might think that knowledge should be useful for the success in your job or at school. On the other hand you maybe understand knowledge as a part of the human existence, that allows us to think critically and to reflect about our life which includes the whole environment surrounding us. I want to respond the question from the second point of view. Knowledge has to be understood as much more than the ability to function in a special kind of business environment. Knowledge is the sum of all the theoretical facts and experiences a human being collects during his or her whole life. And from this position a knowledge as broad as possible must be accepted as the better alternative. I think that it will become a very big problem in our society when we continue to concentrate the whole educational system — especially the schools — only on teaching specific subjects. Of course it is actually is very important for young people to have the right preparation for the business world. But as I already said, life must focus on much more than the economic aspect. Even if you think that the preparation for the business world should be the main aspect of acquiring knowledge, you should still agree with the statement, because when you really analyse the requirements of work that are typical in our time, you will realize that the technologies and the methods change so quickly, that it would be a very big mistake to concentrate on a specific subject. You would always have the danger that if you concentrate on a specialized part of human knowledge, that part might become completely unimportant in the nearest future. Nowadays it seems to be useful to be able to program computers. Yet in some years computers might have the ability to program themselves. When you have a broad knowledge than you will be able to handle all the new things that you might get confronted with. And you will not only be able to handle them — but you will have the possibility to fully understand them and take part in their development. Not only as a passive part but as a creator of your own future