: A university education should be provided for free of charge to all interested scholars. Use examples and reasons to support your position.

It is generally accepted that education is an important factor in a young adult development. Nevertheless more and more adolescents wish to continue their education after they graduate high school. Even though it is true that education should be accessible to all interested people, I do not agree that education should be free of charge to all interested candidates. First, if a person pays for his or her own education make him or her more responsible. Taking control of the education expense means that one is grown up enough to organize his or her budget and organize the life in such way to be able to attend a school and in the same time to support himself. For example, when I finished Highschool I was admitted to an important University in my country, but I had to pay for the first year tuition. I was fully aware of the fact that I cannot afford to enter in school at that time because I didn’t have the necessary founds to support myself. I decided that would be better for me to work for one year and save money for my tuition. My parents were very proud of me that I was responsible enough to make that decision. In addition to that, I think that having a student loan or paying for the education represents a motivational factor for the student to graduate. For example, statistics shows that college drop off rate for the students that pay for their education by themselves is lower than for the students who doesn’t have to pay for various reasons, such as free scholarship or the tuition is paid by somebody else. The students who pay for their own education are less probably to abandon the school at one moment because they don’t want to waste their money. Third, the students should be highly determined to pursue an education in order to succeed in chosen career path. Let’s assume that everybody will have access to a free education. This means that all people will want to continue school no matter what, because is much easier to attend free school then finding a job for example or fighting to obtain what you want. If the person is motivated enough will do whatever it takes in order to follow his or her dream and graduate desired school no matter how much the tuition will cost. I recall the movie “Pursue of happiness” where the main character was so poor that he had to sleep in the metro stations, but his dream was to become a good broker. The cost of training as broker was huge but he sacrificed his own comfort and fought to be able to pay for the tuition. At the end his efforts were recognized and praised. By way of conclusion, based on arguments explored above, I am of the opinion on that in fact it would be more beneficial for the students if they have to pay for their own education.