It is a waste of time for governments to fund space travel or space exploration.

In the recent years, the vast majority of people have been raising controversy with regard to the issue that how should the government allocate its funds appropriately. From a practical point of view, some people advocate investing more financial budget to improve the infrastructure, which is intimately associated with their basic life, while others may believe that the government has the obligation to subsidize more money to the research and exploration of the outer space. From my perspective, I am definitely in favor of the latter statement. Admittedly, some people may concern that the government should give top priority to the improvement of the infrastructure like schools, which can benefit their well being, rather than the distant outer space. The prevalence of education lays a solid foundation for the future of the whole country which is led by the next generation. That' s why a considerable number of people insist that the government should ensure sufficient education budget and thus might be capable of providing adequate financial support for compulsory education and university research. Otherwise, if a myriad of children cannot gain access to educational resource, the proportion of illiteracy may boost. By contrast, they may consider that the outer space programs are irrelevant to their daily life so it' s a waste of source to fund space research. Therefore, the aforementioned reasons can account for why people disapprove of the space programs. However, I oppose their opinion due to their shortsighted points. Although the benefits of exploring outer space may be vague in a short period of time, they will be brought about in the long term. For example, some extremely useful particles have just been found in the recent few years despite the arduous research on it for decades. The Higgsboson and gluon which proved to be effective do deal with some intractable problems were found almost three years ago, which means that once we insist on the exploration of space for enough time, we can achieve great achievement eventually. Besides, the issues like dark matter have not be explained by the discoveries of such particles, we need to make more effort to the deeper and further research on space. Hence, the government should offer more subsidy to the space exploration for the sake of long-term achievements. What' s more, paying more attention to the space programs can ensure our survive in the future as well. Because the resources which were abundant previously have been gradually depleted due to the dramatic advancement of technology and transportation, which might require that exploring alternative and habitual planets for human' s survive has been a more urgent demand. If we pay no attention to seek for the habitats which may save us in the future, we may lose our resident area one day. Hence, the financial patronage in the research of space should never be overlooked by the government. To sum up, although numerous people assert that the government is obligated to invest more money in the programs closely related to their lives instead of the out space, I believe that it is imperative for the government to emphasize and fund space travel or space exploration.