It is more important for student to understand ideas and concepts than it is for them to learn facts.

I agree with that statement. I think if students can first understand ideas and concepts then they can learn facts more easily and in an acceptable way. Usually facts are obvious for us for example we can see them in our books, but ideas and concepts are somethings that we don' t learn them from books. we can get them from our classmates or teacher. By thinking about a specific subject we can find ideas about it and then understand it' s concept. When we find out these two factor we can read facts and see if we can accept it or not. Fact is practical while ideas and concepts are intellectual. At first we may not understand the difference between them but they are two different subjects. For example when I have Electrical lab there was a lot of works that I should apply to the circuit, and it was practical part and very easy for me if I could understand the concept of it. As far as I could understand the ideas and concepts of circuit, I could design it faster and easier. Ideas and concepts are intellectual because they aren' t obvious for us. Consider you faced a problem in your math. You have a formula in book which is a fact, but you don' t have the idea of how to solve it. So we should think about it carefully to solve it. Once I had a history class our teacher always ask us to do some research about famous people that lived in the past. It was very easy for us to do this kind of assignment, because we can just search through the Internet or our historical shelves in our library and write our essay about them. I mean in that kind of homework the idea was given to us by our teacher. We don' t need to think about it or solve something, so it was a kind of easy homework. I think it is not easy to understand the ideas and concepts of something. Specially when you are young and student, because we don' t have enough experience in every area. And it takes much more time from us to understand the ideas and concepts than the facts. So for these reasons I think it is important for students to understand ideas and concepts than learning the facts.