Before making a decision, it is important to find out if the decision will be popular with others. Use examples and reasons to support your position.

At every point of life, we have to take decisions, some of which are easy as we are confident about them while some are difficult. In my opinion, before making a decision, it is not important to find out if the decision will be popular with others for two reasons. In my belief, decisions should be taken according to one' s convenience and need, and while deciding something, people should put their choices before anything else. Firstly, people should take decisions according to their convenience. There are times when people get distracted because of their surroundings and end up taking some decisions which they didn' t want to. Rather, people should surely look up in their surroundings for some directions but at the end should do what makes them feel confident and is in their convenience. For example, when I was in college, we had some objective subjects. In option we had Machine Learning and Cyber Security, and almost all of my friends were opting Machine Learning, which I didn' t know about at the time. I wanted to build up my career in computer security and at that time if I' d known about my friend' s decisions maybe I might have had changed my choice and might study a different subject, but then it would have become difficult for me to achieve my desired career choice. Secondly, while taking decisions people should keep themselves above anyone' s choices because at the end of the day, they have to deal with whatever is left with them. For instance, in college, if I would have taken Machine Learning instead of Cyber Security, though a great field, today I might not be a cloud security engineer. So, for achieving a goal it is important to take right decisions, instead of deciding something under peer pressure or finding out the most popular decision among others. Also, it is not important that whatever we decide, it always has to be right. There are many times when we make mistakes or go for the wrong choices but we get to learn so much from those wrong decisions too. For example, when I was in high school, I decided to study the advance level science while all of my friends were studying the basic level, which I was aware of. At the end of the semester, I didn' t score well but I did get to perform many different chemistry experiments which my friends didn' t do. Concluding my point, it is not important that you will always get a positive result from your decisions or if a large number of people are taking a common decision then it will be correct for you. It is a person' s responsibility to think for themselves and taking decision which benefits them before anyone else. Also, there are some times when people have to make decisions according to their society or due to some situations and it looks like what everyone is deciding is correct and should agree with them. There is no harm in finding out if one' s decision is popular among others and if so, agreeing on that. People should listen to their instincts and experience while making decisions.