Playing computer game is a waste of time. Children should not be allowed to play them

With the advent of urbanization and the rise in popularity of fast food, there have been accompanying issues with rising obesity rates – especially in developed countries like England and the USA. After providing a careful analysis of why obesity has risen so sharply in these countries, I shall suggest a number of ways in which the obesity epidemic can be ameliorated. To begin with, it should be unsurprising that fast food is incredibly popular in wealthy countries (like England and the USA). Due to higher levels of development in these countries, consumers possess more money and can, therefore, consume vast amounts of fast food without seriously diminishing their income. For example, the American Dietary Association found that (compared to the average Indian household), the average American household has a six times larger budget for food per month. Consequently, it is to be expected that obesity rates are much higher in countries with larger amounts of wealth. However, despite the severity of the obesity problem, there are a number of ways in which developed countries could battle it more effectively. Firstly, developed governments could put far more pressure on fast food outlets to provide healthy alternatives to hamburgers, french fries, and soft drinks. Secondly, public exercise initiatives could be advertised and promoted far more vigorously. Lastly, modules that inform teenagers about healthy dietary requirements could be taught at schools. In conclusion, although obesity is a serious issue in the developed world, if the above steps are taken, the situation will surely improve in the coming years