Parents or other adult relatives should make important decisions for their older teenage children. Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

Questions surrounding what is the role of parents in their children’s education have been ongoing in the last years, since an increasing number of teenagers want to become independent earlier than in the past. While some people believe that parents (or adult relatives) should decide for the youngsters, others believe that teenagers should make important decision autonomously. In my opinion, parents should allow young sons and daughters to make important decisions, but they should give some advice for their lives. I will explore why I feel this way in the following essay. On the hand, teenage children have to take responsibility for their lives. If parents always make choices for them, they will never learn how to take a position. In my opinion, adult relatives are the best teachers: in fact, they teach us what is wrong and what is right and how to deal with difficult or dangerous situations. My parent gave me lots of life lessons and I will be thankful to them forever. However, if they had decided for me in any situation without letting me to think and take a position, I could not have become a mature man. Thus, teenagers should reflect on their life, take a position and be responsible, since this is sign of maturity. On the other hand, parents should give some suggestions in order to help teenagers make important decisions. For instance, my parents gave me some advice when I was choosing my future after high school. I was undecided between going to university or attending a trade school. I asked them some advice since I thought that they could have faced the same problem in the past. Even though my father is extremely practical-minded and he did not like studying, he told me that he had the same problem as a young man. He made me understand the differences between the two schools and he suggested me to attend university, based on his knowledge of my personality. Anyways, he underlined that he just gave his opinion and I had to take a position by myself. After our discussion, I was able to fully consider all of my own options. Thus, talking with your parents can be useful when you are struggling with a dilemma. All in all, this essay discussed why teenagers should take decisions autonomously. This is because they should become mature and responsible for their own life. Having said that, parents should give some advice if necessary.