Do Violent Video Games Cause Behavior Problems?

Nowadays, children have always been playing games related to violence such as war games, superheroes vs. villains, police vs. criminals, Star Wars games… Nevertheless, violence in children's playing time was brought to a whole new level when video games got into the picture. Therefore, I agree that violent video games actually cause behavior problems depending on the child because not everyone reacts the same way to the same things and action games can also have a good effect on children's brains. On the one hand, it is noticeable that children tend to be violent after playing violent video games. Violent video games awaken a state of irritation. Thus, the gamers are more inclined to verbal aggression and brutal behavior. Especially children, when they are allowed to play violent game genres too early, they will not be aware of what is real and what is virtual. Therefore, they will act against things they do not like, because they think they are heroes like in the game. For example, children who are under 10 years old play heroic games too much and they think they are also heroes to protect the world and have violent tendencies towards people what they consider wrong. This can cause bad effects on children's brains. On the other hand, action video games can improve player's learning ability. Violent gaming doesn't just cause negative effects. In the real life, the action gamers has higher perceptual learning performance when compared to the non-action gamers. Experienced players are very effective at multitasking, as they can pay attention to several details at once without confusion Gaming scenarios contribute to the development of such capacity of the brain. For instance, for children with action games, they often have a more detailed view of things and phenomena, which also helps them a lot in learning. Besides, children who do not play games often have slower reactions and less observational ability. In conclusion, the positive effects of video games and the lack of evidence that violent games are the real cause of behavioral problems should not be considered. Too much gaming leads to an unhealthy lifestyle, so parents should do their best to control this habit and choose games for their children carefully. There are many video games that can help develop different brain functions without making players dependent on virtual violence.