Do the positive effects outweigh negative effects, when advertising gains in popularity?

There is no denying that advertising is becoming more and more popular as an useful means of promoting and selling products. However, it is also fraught with controversy that advertising brings numerous adverse effects to the community. As far as I am concerned, I oppose this view, and my reasons will be explained in the following paragraphs. On the one hand, many said that advertising leaves a large number of negative impacts in consumers’ minds on the ground that it manipulates customers’ awareness of what advertisers are disseminating and makes buyers follow their will. Hence, people have a tendency to buy products not necessary to them. Nonetheless, evidence supports an opposing view that advertising is merely a tool functioning unveiling new products which are able to meet users’ demands. On the contrary, it will be of beneficial effects on customers if advertising becomes popular. The main advantage is to offer adequate and accurate information about all the alternatives available resulting in speeding consumers’ acceptance of new goods and technologies. In this sense, advertising makes a great many contributions not only help citizens broaden their knowledge about advanced and modern products but also reach a higher standard of living. Furthermore, it is unquestionably to recognise that advertising fosters full employment by boosting turnover rate of company’s commodities and guaranteeing the sustainability of a corporation. Last but not least, it is obvious to recognise that advertising plays a key role in facilitating economic well-being. In simple terms, it is a major sponsor of various industry sectors due to the fact that all businesses, if having no advertising, will have enormous trouble in introducing and launching their products to the markets. To summarise, advertising meets consumers’ demands for updating the information of new products and supporting partly economic growth; therefore, it is undeniable that advertising is a particularly vital tool.