Do advantages of ecotourism outweigh the disadvantages?

The publicity of ecotourism in the present is not on a par with that of this concept in the past in terms of growing interest in that tendency. Although there are potential drawbacks of ecotourism, I hold a view that upsides outweigh the downsides in the wake of the undermentioned reasons. One of the major advantages of ecotourism is the fact that ecotourism enables travelers to protect the natural destinations that they visit. To elaborate, eco-tourists strive to make minimum impact on the environment and positive contribution to the local ecology. They collaborate on various activities for generating environmental awareness in the society and encourage the others to care for ecology. For instance, in Australia, there is an organization-CVA (Conservation Volunteers Australia), which engages the individuals who are interested in the protection and conservation of nature. Besides, economic benefits of ecotourism cannot be underestimated. Ecotourism can provide the local communities with decent work opportunities which is beneficial to the economic growth of the countries. The more people are employed; the more tax will be paid to the government. Therefore, the budget of the countries can be increased. The first drawback of ecotourism is that sometimes unscrupulous profit-making organizations simply try to take advantage from the increasing popularity of ecotourism. They publicize themselves as ecotourism companies following certain practices which, indeed, they neglect. The other potential demerit of this concept is demolition of local facilities in order to make way for hotels, restaurants, touristic attractions. This process leads to displacement of host country nationals and provokes public outcry. To sum up, although there are some downsides of ecotourism, its positive aspects surpass them. From my perspective, it would be better the governments devote determined efforts to preclude some companies from cheating individuals who are prone to ecotourism and impose certain regulations against malevolent policy of entrepreneurs who intend to build various facilities on the land of locals.