discussion based vs lecture based

It is a generally accepted fact that education is of paramount importance for having a comfortable and fulfilling life; in fact, so valuable can one’s education be that most of the efforts people make from childhood until late twenties are often dedicated to studying and learning new concepts. schools and teachers play a prominent role in students’ success and happiness. In this case some controversy arises as to what kind of learning method is more effective in high schools. There are many people who contend that high school teachers should be better to spend most of the class time lecturing and on the other hand, some of them believes that teachers should spend most of the class time on discussion and exchanging ideas. I personally concur with the latter one. The rationale behind this thesis will be investigated through two reasons in what follows. One reason of note that comes to mind at first is that discussion in the class increase students’ self-confidence. By participating in class discussion, students strive to overcome their fears of talking in front of others. This situation provides students with the opportunity to relieve their stress. The less stress the students experience, the higher self-confidence they achieve. Take my personal experience as an example. Ten years ago when I was a high school student, my chemistry teacher forced us to participate in the class by presenting part of the lessons in the class. After the presentation of students, she wanted to talk about our opinions. Had my teacher lectured all the lesson by herself, we would have not been able to boost our self-confidence. Having a reasonable amount of self-confidence in today’s competitive world is vital for human being’ success. Second, should teachers involve students in the class discussion, students will be able to improve their relational skills. In today’s sophisticated world, establishing relationship has a profound and intense impact on one’s growth. participating in class discussion is breeding ground for improving relationship skills of students. According to recent study at University of Tehran, over 80 percent of high school students who study at schools use discussion based approach are more successful at their life. This clearly shows that communication is inevitable part of human being’s life and relationship is an opportunity for growth and healing. having analyzed aforementioned ideas and reasoning, one can safely surmise discussion based class has a good influence on individual’s success and satisfaction. This is because not only does it increase students’ self-confidence, but also it improves social relationship skills. Let us hope that whole people in all over the world be happy and successful in their life.