DISCUSSION ABOUT SMARTPHONE SHOULD BE BANNED AT PRIMARY SCHOOL

In recent years, allowing the use of smartphones with respect to pupils has become a broad issue to the general public. Some people believe that smartphones should be banned in primary schools. However, others think that smartphones should be encouraged to use. In my opinion, I agree with the former view. Discussed below are several reasons supporting my perspective. First and foremost, people should recognize that smartphones should not be allowed at school. A very important point to consider is that using the smartphone will distract children since the ability of children’s concentration is not very high. This means that smartphones are installed with many applications for playing games as well as entertaining that will make children lose focus on learning. Besides, using mobile phones can be harmful to children’s eyes. To illustrate this point, I would like to mention that according to many recent studies, the eye’s refractive errors in many children, especially myopia and hyperopia, are caused by early use of electronic tools for long hours. Another point I would like to make is that the restriction of social communication is one of the considerable impacts of using cellphones excessively. The virtual society in games which are available in any modern smartphone makes pupils ignore their real life, laziness in communication with friends and other people. As a result, children misunderstand how to behave and interact with others, this is also one of the causes of autism and depression in children. On the other hand, there are several arguments in support of the idea that it should be encouraged at primary schools. It is also convincing to realize that cell phones also have positive effects. This means that children can expand their knowledge on mobile learning websites to enrich their knowledge not found in books. In some cases, I think that this will be more beneficial toward students in higher levels of education. Moreover, in the digital age, education needs more support from technological tools, and smartphones are one of them. Many useful applications are published to serve educational purposes which are applied in teaching in order to develop children’s abilities and help teaching become more efficient. In conclusion, the above mentioned facts have created a dilemma when people evaluate the impact of this issue, and it is still a controversial issue. As far as I am concerned, I put more emphasis on the idea that smartphones should not be encouraged in primary schools. People should have further consideration on this issue.