Discuss these two views and share your experience

With so many cars roaming our planet, the issue of global warming is becoming more and more serious. Some suggest governments should invest in public transportation while others think it's better to spend that money on the development of cars that don't pollute as much. Which of these two solutions is the most promising one? To begin with, it's no secret that public means of transportation are really eco-friendly and don't pollute nearly as much. Trains, buses, and trams usually run on electricity, which is a renewable source of energy and doesn't cause environmental pollution at all. People can commute to their desired destinations without spending much on transportation. However, the issue here is that people who use private cars are hardly going to change their transportation preferences. The reason for that is because cars are more convenient and don't have certain limitations, such as stops. So even if governments do invest in public transportation systems, the number of people that prefer cars over buses and trains is unlikely to change. On the contrary, many also advocate that, car manufacturers should start developing eco-friendly vehicles, such as electric or hybrid cars. By adopting this method, more renewable sources of energy will be used and gasoline/diesel consumption will decline. This will help the environment as there will be less carbon dioxide emissions, which of course are known to cause global warming. In my view, this is a better alternative as it doesn't require a shift in transportation preferences while the goal to help our planet is met as well. Taking everything into consideration, nations should start combating global warming as soon as possible, as this issue is a massive threat to our future generations. Even though investments in public transportation systems may seem like a viable solution, the development of hybrid and electric cars is more likely to help the problem.