Discuss the phenomenon of children learning the second language.

Linguistic investment in children is gaining so much momentum that it has increasingly become a common consideration for parents when it comes to teaching the offspring languages. I believe much as skepticism is raised surrounding the question of whether or not this remains a healthy development, the trend has undeniably done good to the cognitive and academic enhancement of children. This essay will give reasons to support my point of view. First of all, being bilingual is believed to facilitate the child to be involved more in creative play, elaborating daily matters. Moreover, children with early exposure to a second language have the tendency to score higher on standardized tests. In particular, once a newborn grasps the understanding of further language structures, they are more inclined to find less difficulty in acquiring a new tongue. At a personal level, the proficiency, or common usage of a second language would equal better access to diverse cultures and peoples. As a result, this would encourage better comprehension of a child on the expressions and manners of communication. In addition, career-wise speaking, bilingual capacity would widen the job opportunities for the preschoolers in the future, especially in the case of the second language being the main business language, for instance English. It is indisputable that there exists numerous families that are prioritizing English the best second language to pursue. On the other hand, early cognitive growth along with coerce motive from the parents would bring about counter effects on the young development of a child. Without proper management and adjustment in the teaching methodology, offsprings may lose grip of the balance in the use of their mother tongue and their second language. Furthermore, it is irrefutable that bilingualism results in the children forming a heterogenous group. Consequently, the combination of dialects and words from two languages may lead to the situation where they gradually lose touch with their inherent nation’s culture and expressions. In conclusion, while bilingualism may not hold inherent negative effects on child development, they may give birth to some negative outcomes in terms of socio-cultural context. Whichever the case, I believe parents first and foremost should make rational decisions in the matter of teaching their child a second language.