Discuss the major advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad.

In this day and age, there is an undisputed fact that studying in a foreign country is becoming more and more common. I cling to the belief that overseas studying has both benefits and drawbacks. This essay will discuss in details the advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad in today’s world. On the one hand, going to study in a foreign country brings to us some specific advantages. First of all, people who study abroad can create social networks from all around the world. It is possible to encounter or make friends from overseas, and they will effortlessly know how to develop communication skills. Secondly, they are able to have more chances of experiencing new things on their own such as managing finances, splitting time appropriately, fixing broken things, tidying up their accommodation, etc. Some people do not have relations or acquaintances while they study abroad, so that it is such a great opportunity for them to gain more knowledge and experience by themselves. Thirdly, the most decisive advantage to overseas study is real-life use of a different language. There is no better opportunity than going abroad with a view to learning and improving the language fluency. On the other hand, we can observe that studying abroad has its disadvantages. The first one is the high cost while applying for studying abroad. It is abundantly clear that the school fees are always higher for international students. The second one is being homesick while being miles away from home. I wonder how tough it might be at first if I go to study in a place which is utterly different from my country. In addition, there may be some problems with language barriers while studying abroad is a great chance to learn languages. This is likely happening initially when you have to arrange things, sign up accounts and communicate. Finally, you may well suffer culture shock. Even if you have done some researches about the culture, you will find lots of things different when you actually live. To sum up, studying abroad not only offers great opportunities for a brighter future but also has challenges for us to get through. When people make up their minds to study abroad, they also have to prepare some tips and solutions to some problems that might exist.