Discuss the causes of the escalation of crime rates in most cities. What effect does this have on society?

Crime rates are growing day by day in most cities, and they are affecting society. There are numerous factors, which are involved in rising criminality. In this essay reasons for escalating crime rates and their impact on society will be comprehensively discussed. The first and perhaps the main reason for flourishing crime levels is probably education. Nowadays, education is considerably expensive, and not many people can afford it. These individuals, with no higher education or college degree, have no choice but to take lower-wage jobs. The income they get from these jobs is usually not adequate for satisfying their needs or take care of their family members. As a result, the number of individuals attempts to achieve material success through illegal means, such as theft, robbery, burglary. Another reason for an increasing trend is possibly the impact of surroundings. It is been claimed criminals mostly are influenced by the poverty and the social instability of the neighbourhood. It is been claimed that this type of poor social and economic environment could produce all types of crimes as well. For instance, If a person lives in an area, which is full of crimiinals, soon or later he will get to know them and possibly will get impacted by them, consequently starts committing crimes too. To my mind, an increase in the rates of crime deeply affects society’s behaviour. Due to frequent crimes individuals may feel anxious to go outside or lose their trust in humans. Some of them might even move to another city, therefore a decrease in the population of a city can be expected. To sum up, there are many causes of an increasing crime, thus these issues should be tackled down.