Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of working from home. Give reasons with your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

With the outspread of the Covid – 19 pandemic worldwide, one popular trend seen among working professionals is to work from home. Basically this type of work can be done mostly with the help of a laptop, a smartphone and internet connection. This essay will discuss both positive and negative aspects associated with this working style. Firstly, let us look into the benefits offered by working remotely. Working from home reduces the time wasted on travel from home to workplace. For example, a person who normally spends 3 to 4 hours daily travelling via train or by driving a car can save this time and utilize it for doing something productive. In addition to this companies also benefit by way of lesser expenses towards tea and refreshment, electricity bills etc which usually is high when there is full attendance in the office. Many companies have been promoting work from home style of working due to this reason of cost – cutting. On the contrary, employee has to face several distractions when he or she has to work from home. For example, a person delivering a presentation through Zoom video conferencing from his home may be distracted by the sound of TV in the main room or a child crying or may be the cluttering of utensils in the kitchen which is not the case in office conference rooms. Working from may give you ample time to spend with your family, but it may sometimes make you feel socially disconnected from your office friends. The interactions developed with the peers and colleagues in the office environment cannot be replaced by online meetings. To conclude with, there are both benefits and drawbacks involved in working from home. Though it saves time and cost, it can affect the quality of work and affect social life of the staff. However, in the current pandemic situation working remotely can be considered as one of the biggest boon as one can be safe at home.