Discuss how you think literacy could affect the future of a particular nation.

Literacy is the foundation of an individual’s education. Having the ability to read and write is something nobody can take away from them. This greatly affects a person’s life and everybody else around them. High literacy rates equate to a high quality of living. Reading and writing are fundamental skills needed in the workplace. This is a major requirement for anyone wishing to earn money whether it be an office job or a blue-collar job. Literacy showers them with opportunities and better pay. This does not only improve their family’s quality of living, but it also benefits the economy. More employees with high-earning jobs greatly contribute to an economy’s prosperity. Additionally, the wide array of work options literate people have lowers the crime rate. With generous pay, they do not resort to crime to feed the mouths of their families. It has since been proven that there is a link between low literacy and crime since a majority of incarcerated individuals are illiterate. Since literate individuals have more options, they do not turn to unconventional ways to earn money. In effect, peace is not disrupted and the crime rate can stay at a manageable rate. Moreover, it affects the lives of the future generation. Children with literate parents do not face difficulty learning how to read and write. They might hit a snag here and there, but these difficulties are something their parents can assist them with. They need extra help, and this is something that is readily available in their homes. This gives them more opportunities and they also have the ability to pass on the good life to their offspring. In conclusion, the economy, peace, and lives are affected by literacy. Literacy is essential in the workplace and the higher the employment rate, the better the quality of living is. Crime rates do not rise if more people are literate since they can easily find another job or proceed to pursue higher education if they want to. Lastly, the future generation is blessed with a better life and is set for life.