Turism is the most important part of an economy in different countries. What are the advantages and disadvantages of openning turist places in cities

Tourism is the most crucial part of the economy for various destinations all around the world, however it can also bring negative consequences, if it is not managed properly. Tourism may provide countries with a significant amount of money, but it affects their environments and locals’ living conditions as well. This essay elaborates on how benefits of the developed tourism industry prevail over its negative side effects. First of all, tourism remains the main source of income for many countries. Incoming tourists not only contribute to the local and national economies by leaving their money in hotels, restaurants and etc. , but also by creating a demand for new businesses to open, therefore building a platform for new jobs. Constant tourists’ flow sustains economies of numerous countries including European ones. For example, there are plenty of historical destinations in Italy which attract millions of tourists every year. Cities such as Rome, Venice, Florence are basically worshiped by thousands of culture and history lovers from all over the world, so the country with a weakly developed agricultural economy relies on tourism in terms of providing for the national budget. However, despite this undeniable economical advantage of tourism, it can also be harmful for the local people. A lot of tourist destinations are infamous for their crime rates, unreasonably high prices and environmental problems. For instance, in the Barcelona city center it is almost impossible to avoid an encounter with pickpockets, or find a cafe or a restaurant with mildly decent food for a good price. For sure, locals know the places and are more difficult to trick into a fraud, but they are definitely affected by the lodging prices, minor crimes that are committed on the streets of their cities and all the garbage tourists leave. In conclusion, it is clear that tourism based economies have particular flaws, however, In my opinion, it remains a vital industry for many countries which have no other economy sector to rely on.