With The Improvements In Today’s Health Care, Society Has To Care For More And More Elderly People

It is rightly said that with the growing advancements in the health care sector, more and more people are living longer. But the question is whether our society is well-prepared to cater to the needs of the elderly. Let us discuss this in detail in the following paragraphs. First, with the rise in the number of seniors, there will be an increase in the number of people suffering from health problems as well. This leads to the rise in demand for specialists in these medical fields, supporting medical equipment, some of which are priced heavily. There will be a shortage of nurses, senior care givers and medications for illnesses commonly affecting the elderly. To answer the question of whether our society is equipped to cope with such an increase in numbers, I would say that we are not fully prepared. The reason is we are all well aware of ways in which the old age people can be best taken care of and we have sufficient medical advancements to take care of their health. Society is prepared only up to a certain extent because these health care facilities do not reach every individual in the world. It is only the privilege of the rich people. There are still thousands of people in the world who are not aware of many health care advancements and many more who cannot afford to treat their dear ones.