Discipline is an ever increasing problem in a modern school. Some people say that teachers are mainly responsible for this problem, others insist that parents play a vital role.

When the issue of discipline in modern school is brought into view, opinions are divided. Some people attribute responsibility for teachers while others insist on parents’ roles. Personally, I am in favor of the latter and my reasons would be explored as below. Admittedly, teachers are able to stabilize discipline in schools by creating rules and proposing punishments to treat students who break the rules. However, these solutions are not taken into account as the completely effective ones due to the fact that a number of rebellious students still smoke cigarettes in recreations, cheat in exams and even have violent behaviors with friends. This means that teachers have difficulties in maintaining discipline in schools unless their students are disciplinarians. However, this trouble is tackled without a hitch if the students have been familiar with obeying the disciplines since their young age. In that case, they don’t treat principles in school as commands which get on their nerves. On the contrary, they accept rules in comfortable and voluntary attitude. Take my grandma as a significant example. She is a last-born child of a couple who both work in military where disciplines are obligatory. At early age, she was taught to follow rules by her parents. Therefore, she integrated effortlessly into such a strict environment as school. This means that parents, who take primary responsibility for forming their children’ temperament, play a dispensable role. In general, both teachers and parents have great impacts on aforementioned problem. However, parents’ duty is much more crucial because although teachers contribute to creating discipline in schools, parents are mainly in charge of maintaining it.