disadventage or advantage about driverless car

Issues related to driverless vehicles are frequently discussed these days. It is undeniable that the trend of robotic car will be rising in the future. Despite the fact that this trend have some demerits, I am convinced that there are a greater number of merits. On the one hand, there are a number of advantages associated with autonomous vehicles. The first benefit to consider is that it can decrease accidental rates on the roads. It is common knowledge that a variety of car accident are mainly caused by human errors. This is illustrated by the fact that in Thailand, especially on long holiday such as national holiday, the accidental rates are significant increase and the main reason is drunk driving. Another important advantage that needs to be taken into account is that the self-driving vehicles can offer more convenient choices of travelling for disable or elderly people. It is largely due to the fact that driverless vehicles are more safe than taxi drivers. Obviously, these groups of people might not be safe when they travel with dangerous drivers so the new technology like this might be the better choice for them to travelling. On the one side of the argument, the negative impacts cannot be overlooked. The obvious disadvantage is that some people might lose their job when the self-driving vehicles become more popular. It is pointed out that some occupations such as truck driver, taxi driver or food delivery driver will turn to be the unnecessary careers. For example, in Japan, there are many driverless trains and this can lead to the increase of unemployment rate and mental health problems. From what has been discuss above, I would like to reiterate that the benefits of self-driving vehicles slightly outweigh the drawbacks. It will be a disruptive technology if we could have the driverless vehicles in the future.