An often debated topic is whether adve

An often debated topic is whether advertising has a major influence on the growing similarity of people’s lifestyles in the modern world. I partly agree with this opinion for a number of reasons. On the one hand, the power of advertising is undeniable. The growth of the advertising industry has resulted in many people buying products of the same manufacturer, which can be seen in the case of consumer goods. Today, the advertising campaigns of multinational companies such as Unilever have been so successful that their products almost dominate the market. Smaller enterprises tend not to be able to compete with these giant market leaders due to their disadvantages of capital poured into advertising programs. Thus, customers are often swayed to buy products of famous brands rather than those made by less well-known companies. On the other hand, it is also true that people tend to copy others’ lifestyles without being affected by advertising. For example, it is valid to argue that many young people are trying to emulate their idols’ fashion styles. Many manage to purchase the same clothes, dye their hair, and wear the same perfume as their stars do. People can also turn to their social relations for advice when they need to buy something. For instance, junior citizens usually ask their friends before they come to a final decision on buying a smartphone. In conclusion, advertising has indeed the gap between each individual’s lifestyle in modern society. However, I believe that it is not the sole factor that contributes to the trend.