Disadvantage of sport business

I agree with the author’s standpoint that the commercialization of sport can create gambling and corruption in the competition for three reasons. Firstly, the commercialization of sport increases the economic value of each tournament and each match. Sports matches have more followers, leading to an increase in gambling and betting from both legal and illegal bookmakers. Thus, the commercialization of sports causes gambling in competitions. Secondly, the commercialization of sports creates pressure on the whole tournament, it makes the teams want to rise to the top not only because of the achievements but also because of the lucrative advertising contracts for the champions. From that pressure, athletes are willing to use drugs, cheat and play badly to achieve personal goals. Thirdly, the commercialization of sports creates corruption, the more commercialized, the more profitable the matches and attractive to media organizations and football organizations. To increase the attractiveness of the tournament or gain illicit profits from betting, these organizations are willing to spend money fixing the scores or changing the results. For example, at the 23rd SEA Games in 2005, some players of the U23 Vietnam team fixed the scores and were paid by the bookie. The case was discovered and the mastermind was sentenced to 4 years in prison. In conclusion, commercialization makes sports matches more dominated by outside organizations, thereby creating activities such as gambling and corruption.