Directors of large organizations earn much higher salaries than ordinary employees do. Some people think it is necessary, but others are of the opinion that it is unfair. Discuss both views and give your own opinions.

For some time now, it has become a topic of debate as a section of the society believes that paying excessively to the senior-most staff of an organization is completely acceptable, whereas others hold a view that this is not fair to the junior workers. In my opinion, I completely agree that huge compensation to executives should be regarded positively. On the one hand, many have valid arguments against higher salaries to executive-level employees. First and foremost, everyone in a firm works around 9 hours a day, that is the reason everyone should be paid accordingly. This is because as per the IT markets' standard, employees on each level have to clock at least 45 hours per week regardless of their positions and Infosys is the prime example of this. Besides this, without any effort of the workforce on lower positions, seniors can not drive a company because most of the technical work is done by the juniors and higher-level employees just deliver that to clients. Furthermore, employees with less experience have also invested a prodigious amount of money and time to acquire the required experience and educational degree; thus, attractive salaries to seniors is not a fair process followed by companies. On the other hand, people who advocate the view that higher salaries to directors and VPs have certain reasons behind their thinking. Firstly, running a firm smoothly requires a team of workers with extensive experience and knowledge about different industries to deal with numerous international clients and to crack any deal in no time. These senior-most people have been working in different sectors since ages so their experience and work commitments should be compensated with handsome salaries. Besides this, if a director fails at any point of time means the entire organization would suffer. Mahindra Satyam, for example, has a similar story where CFO failed to run the company as a result, lower staff had to suffer as they were terminated. Therefore, I wholeheartedly agree that the attractive remuneration to directors is completely fair and the right approach. To conclude, although many still argue that paying excessive salaries to the top-most worker is unfair to juniors, I am completely convinced that this is definitely a fair option as these people are behind running the business properly and due to this the workers on lower positions are earning.