Different cultures are mixing and the world is becoming a global village. Is it a positive or negative development? Give your own opinion and examples.

It is true that, nowadays, people with different cultural background are interacting with one another and turning the world into a small village. In my opinion, amalgamation of different cultures is a positive trend due to economic advantages and propagation of religious harmony. In my perspective, economic development is achieved when people from all over the world communicate. Such communication facilitates trade between different communities. Products specific / unique to a particular community or area can be exported to places where they are not available. Thus, it helps in boosting the economy of the world holistically. To illustrate, silk which is extensively produced in India is exported to European countries. This is possible only due to cultural associations between them. Additionally, I believe that the religious harmony is promoted as a result of the cultural exchanges between different countries. People understand and respect each other’s cultures when they get the opportunity to explore them. These interactions make them more tolerant of differences. Furthermore, incidences of racial hatred and crimes have decreased in recent years. This can be firmly attributed to the rise in cultural interaction between different communities. From my personal experience, I can vouch for this change. To illustrate, cricket players from different cultures now rarely hurtle racial abuses at one another because they have started playing for the same team in cricket leagues such as IPL. In conclusion, I believe mutual interaction between people of different cultures is a positive development because it benefits the economy and promotes communal harmony.