University lecturers are now able to put their lectures on the internet for students to read and so the importance of attending face-to-face lectures has been reduced. Do you believe the use of the internet in formal education is a good idea? what future effects will the internet have on academic study?

Over the past few years, computer technology has started to change many aspects of our lives. One of these is our approach to teaching and learning. Many people believe that the internet will greatly enhance students' lives but in my opinion, the costs will outweigh the benefits. One future effect of the internet on academic study is that the level of lecturer/student contact that we are used to may be reduced. This might happen simply because students do not need to spend so much time on the university campus. The same maybe true of lecturers. They are able to put the lecturers on the Internet, they may choose to do this from home and so be less available for consultation. In my view this would be a great disadvantage. In my home country, tutors usually stress the importance of regular, informal meetings and students' work could suffer if efforts are not made to maintain these. Apart from the negative impact that the internet may have on student/lecturer relationship, I think we also have to consider the disadvantages to student health. Studying is by nature a very sedentary activity involving long hours reading books and writing assignments. In addition, these activities are usually done alone. Going to campus offers students a change of scenery, a bit of exercise and an opportunity to meet and socialize with with other students. If it is no longer necessary to leave home because lectures are made available on the internet then students may suffer physically and mentally because of this change. Whilst I can appreciate that the internet would be a valuable source of information for students, I cannot agree that it is the best means of of transmitting this information and I think we have to guard against developing an unhealthy dependence on it.