Some people think that hosting an international sports event is good for the country, while some people think it is bad.

Humans are competitive species and sports are one of the best ways we can demonstrate our physical & mental skills. Many people across the world tend to have exposure to different types of sports from a very young age. These athletes dedicate their whole lives to achieve mastery in a particular sport. An international sports event such as olympics, world cup is a chance for them to show their talent to people to enjoy. Many sports enthusiasts though don't play themselves, enjoy watching international sports events for pleasure. Moreover, hosting an international sports event gives boost to the hosting nation's economy and help their local businesses grow. Events of the scale of olympics can boost the nation's GDP, create jobs and build infrastruture for future athletes. On the contrary, such events may lead to many unavoidable consequences. In past, many countries have done extensive deforestation in order to build the infrastructure needed to host an international sports event. In addition to this, disproportionate and unsustainable air & noise pollution has raised many concerns by local and international environmental activists and organisations. Another argument raised by locals in the host country is that government should instead spend this money for betterment of its own people, building basic amenities for people in need rather than stadiums for the elite. On one side, people have difficulty in accessing clean drinking water whereas on the other side goverment is spending billions on swimming pools. Taking both sides into the consideration, although we cannot deny the basic human nessecities such clean drinking water to the people of the host country, we need to give equal importance to social well being achieved by art forms such as sports.