Differences between international and domestic human resource management

Nowadays because of globalization, human resource management is part of the foundation not just for multinationals companies but also to medium and small businesses. Companies that operate in one country can use domestic human resource management to strategically manage employees in the organisation. However, companies that operate globally, in multiple countries, need to use International Human Resource Management (IHRM) to manage members and policies around the globe. IHRM is more composite than Domestic Human Resource Management (HRM). The main functions of HRM basically are recruiting, placing staffs within the national boundaries, less number of rule, high performance, no special attention into the personal life, especial training is not required for socio cultural adaptation, organization and development. When compared to IHRM, the challenge of domestic HRM is relatively small. IHRM does many of the same tasks of HRM, but IHRM activities include international stuff like work permits, staffs work outside their national boundaries, very high number of rules and regulations which are related to taxation, employment rules, language translating services, foreign currencies, inclusion of culture, taxation, schooling of children, foreign locations, employment apportunity for spouse, broader perspective - administration has to be done according HCNS, PCNS and TCNS, currency exchange rates which are variable and may impact the benefits of TCNS and PCNS and more. Both types of HR have a goal to provide fsvwrvwv for their company. One major difference is that Domestic HRM focuses on a single country, while International HRM provides solutions for workers from more than one country, and from different nationalities and cultures. This means that if the company contracts five hundred people from the same country it would be easier to manage than contracting two hundred employees from abroad for exemple. This is because the global company, using IHRM, must deal with taxes, languages, and laws that are different than in their home country. In a lot of cases global businesses operate in other continents with a completely different culture. HRM would typically manage one type of employee, a person who lives in the same country where the business operates. This is a big difference to IHRM, where the department could be managing up to four types of members: people who are from the home country who also live and work in the home country, people who are from other countries who live and work in their own respective country, people from other countries who get visas to live and work in the company’s home country, and expatriates: people who are from the home country but who are living and working in another country.