diet and health: the basic purposes of food and the reasons people choose their food

The speaker discusses the topic called “ diet and health”, including two main points: the basic purposes of food and the reasons people choose their food. To start, she makes two assumptions about why people choose the food they consume that are nutritious and pleasurable. First, she mentioned that eating for nourishment is one out of two reasons because when people consume food transformed into nutritious and digestive substances. Besides, enjoyment is the second factor contributing to what people decide to eat. Secondly, the speaker brings up the differences between French and American attitudes toward food. The French tend to consume food based on their gratification however they still are healthier and thinner than Americans who contemplate eating fat as a poison but can’t help ingesting them. Additionally, eating food relates to two main appearances of feeling, namely, happiness and culpability; to illustrate, Americans seem to feel guilty in contrast to the French take it as a celebration. Due to this, the French tend to enjoy and stay healthier than the Americans even though they consume the same type of food. Eating rules are taken as the main reason to affect people's diet because Americans tend to concentrate on nutrition while setting their meals. French nevertheless strict their eating habits. To sum up, choosing foods is a complicated activity that does not only require nutrition, digestion knowledge but also understanding science, society, emotional information to know what food we should eat.