Diagram of how electricity is created from hydroelectricity power station.

The pictorial representation elicits the power generation from the hydroelectric power station. There are total six steps for the production of electricity which is stated below in further paragraphs. Firstly, water plays a vital role in the power generation from the hydroelectric power station, so water is first stored in the high-lever reservoir, which is attached to the dam and dam gates acts as hindrance for the flow of river. At that time, water is in the potential form of energy. Secondly, while in the day time, the gates are open so that water can go through pan stack to the reversible turbine which leads to transformation of energy from potential to kinetic form of energy. Then after, due to high velocity of flowing water turbine starts to rotate and the turbine is connected to the generator through shaft. In the further step, by passing through turbine water goes to low-level reservoir. However, this cycle is reversed in the night time, water passes from low-lever to high-level and the reversible turbine acts as a pump. Lastly, as the turbine rotates which makes the plates of generator to move and this creates electricity and then by power lines it is distributed to the national grid. Overall, reversible turbine is the main component in the power generation from the hydroelectric power station because in day time it operates generator and in the night time it act as pump, to pump water from low-level to high-level.