Diagnostic Accuracy of Ultrasonography Versus Computed Tomography for Ureteric Calculi Among the Adult Patients Visiting Mayo Hospital Lahore

Background: Uretric calculi was most commonly found associated with ureteric colic. It occurs due to low fluid intake, frequent urinary tract infections and medicines that may crystallize within the urine. Ureteric calculi are mostly composed of calcium which crystallizes in the kidney and moves down to ureter causing obstruction. The prevalence of ureteric colic is increasing everyday. Over-utilization of Computed tomography is a growing health concern because of the used of high radiation in computed tomography. Objective: To determine the diagnostic accuracy of ultrasonography versus computed tomography for ureteric calculi among the adult patients visiting Mayo hospital Lahore. Methods: This Cross-sectional descriptive study was conducted in the Department of Radiology in Mayo hospital Lahore. All patients with ureteric colic (as per operational definition) and with suspicion of ureteric calculus were included. The ct-scan machine of Hitachi (164 slices) and Ultrasound machine Siemens was used to performing this research to determine the diagnostic accuracy of ultrasonography versus computed tomography for ureteric calculi among the adult patients. Ureteric stones were diagnosed on a trans-Abdominal scan by using of 5MHz frequency. Results: Total 78 patients with sign and symptoms of ureteric calculi were imaged with ultrasonography and computed tomography, among them ureteric calculi were found in 25 (34. 2%) patients with ultrasound. Ureteric calculi were found in 52(71. 2%) with computed tomography scanning. The individuals of 17-75 years were mainly involved while most of them were male patients. We observed that, computed tomography scanning is batter to diagnose ureteric calculi as compared to ultrasonography. Ureteric stone is a kidney stone mostly small that normally moves down into the ureterusually composed of undissolved mineral and can easily be stuck in a narrow part of the ureter and leads to the obstruction at any point from the ureteropelvic junction (UPJ) toureterovesical junction (UVJ). These are a subset of the broader topic of urolithiasis. Urolithiasis is common in patients who present with hematuria and/or acute pain located in the flank areai. Acute ureteric colic is one of the worst pain a patient ever experiences in his/her lifeii. It is estimated that up to 6% of women will experience one or more renal calculi episodes in their lives with a recurrence rate of 50%. One in four patients with renal calculi has a family history of renal calculi a situation that multiplies the risk of lithiasis by threeiii. Men are more commonly affected than womeniv. These patients require periodic imaging studies to monitor the stone position and to assess for hydronephrosis. There is high variability in determining the choice of imaging protocols to observe the progression of ureteral calculi for following upv. Protocols guiding imaging use in the management of ureteral calculus disease are desirable because of the potentially harmful cumulative effects of radiation exposure to patients and the increased cost of high-resolution axial imaging moralities vi. Computed tomography (CT) has become the primary imaging modality for evaluating acute flank pain and suspected renal stone diseasevii. Because of its high sensitivity (95-97 %) and specificity (96-100 %) for urinary tract calculi detectionviii. CT is of particular value for detecting ureteral calculi, which often are not visualized with other imaging modalitiesix. However, CT entails exposure to ionizing radiation with attendant long term cancer risk, 4-7 is associated with a high rate of incidental findings that can lead to inappropriate follow-up referral and treatmentx. Although computed tomography (CT) has gained widespread acceptance as the prime investigation having several advantages over other imaging techniques (X-Ray, Ultrasound, Magnetic Resonance Imaging) xi. Ultrasonography (USG) can serve as an alternate for initial screening in the patientsxii. Ultrasound (US) is pain relief. Ultrasound (US) has limited diagnostic value in the assessment of patients with suspected renal stones even when performed by experienced hands particularly in the evaluation of distal ureteric calcul. It can easily identify the stones located in the pyeloureteric and vesicoureteric junctions(VUJ), as well as the complications caused by stones such dilatation of pelvicalyceal system and / or ureter proximal to obstruction and infectionsxiii. Medium and large renal lithiasis (> 5mm) can be easily detected with 2D ultrasonography due to the different echogenicity with the adjacent parenchyma and the posterior acoustic shadowingxiv. Ultrasound accuracy could also be lower in specific patient subgroups, such as in obese patients, women, and in specific age groups, especially women of reproductive age x