Development of science and technology

Traditional culture in this age still retains some forms of similarity to previous generations, however, science and technology has greatly influenced it that its original purposes are fading away. That is why it is said that science and technology come hand in hand with traditional culture, yet mankind does not face severe impacts from this accompaniment because the positive impacts outweigh the negatives. This interdisciplinary topic has considerably improved methods of preserving cultures as well as amplifying the productivity of the global society. Despite these positives, the involvement of this topic has also led to technology sprawl in traditional culture. First, human culture is a combined identity that must be preserved; therefore, science and technology enable man to better their methods of cultural preservation. This is especially true concerning indigenous tribes because digital mapping systems are helping to reduce the effect of their isolation from the modern world. Such an example is the Amazon Tribes where they use the Global Positioning System to map the traditional lands of Amazonian communities to improve their cultural cartography and monitor how the land changes over time; the data then gets shared with The Amazon Conservation Team, allowing this team to document the findings for future use. As a result, the Tribes and the Brazillian authorities are able to identify small-scale gold deposits as well as to detect agricultural pests' growth around the forest in joint operations. Therefore, it is clear that through this mapping system, the Tribes and modern humans stay in contact and work together to protect the Amazonian culture that constitutes everything in the rainforest. Next, science and technology indirectly boost the productivity of the global society in practicing the archetypes of traditional culture. The introduction of long-range mobile telecommunications such as smartphones and the Internet has allowed norms of local culture to diffuse quickly into others, and consequently expanded the boundaries of individual creativity. In terms of societal norms, an example is taken of a manager of a Malaysian company who employs a South Korean work ethic in which a manager takes his subordinates out after work as a form of social bonding. This culture allows them to voice their honest thoughts towards each others’ strengths and weaknesses in an informal and relaxed setting, thereby they are able to work towards improving team coordination and mutual trust. Thus, their unit’s performance output gets better as each member utilizes their creativity in the lax environment due to the teamwork among themselves. Finally, one negative aspect of science and technology accompaniment in traditional culture is the generation of technology sprawl attributed by human factor that fosters unhealthy dependency on it. Since technology is extremely convenient in the sense that it accelerates progress, humanity’s reliance on electronic devices and data transmission systems cause technological growth to be unrestricted and unpredictable. For instance, the dependence has led to unnecessary inventions in the lifestyle aspect such as ‘Smart Hairbrush’, ‘Remote Control Cushion’ and ‘The Hoverbrella’ are evidence that some humans prefer the easy workaround which, if constantly practiced, lessens their self-reliance and makes them slothful. As a result, they become unready to perform demanding tasks. Therefore, humanity’s progress is hindered as more people become less proactive by using technological aid to nurture them completely. To conclude, the accompaniment of science and technology with traditional culture has not severely impacted mankind because the positive impacts outweigh the negative. On the positive side, science and technology enable man to better their methods of cultural preservation and indirectly boosts the global society’s productivity. On the negative side, the accompaniment of science and technology in traditional culture causes humans to foster unhealthy dependency on it through technology sprawl.