Development of culture around globe

Today we live in a globalised world and the development of global culture is often at the expense of local traditions. There are certainly many people that show indifference to local customs in favour of embracing global ideas, but there are still many who see the value in maintaining them, myself included. It is easy to argue that people are strongly influenced by the effects of globalisation. Technology in particular seems to dominate the leisure time of young people, whether it be gadgets or the internet. As a result, there are trends which can be described as global in all aspects of culture. For instance, many people now prefer listening to music by Ed Sheeran or Beyoncé rather than the traditional music of their country, which is often seen as outdated by comparison. Similarly, many would rather try exotic 'foreign' foods than use traditional recipes, which they might see as dull or old-fashioned. However, it would be a mistake to think that everyone thinks this way. Many people are turned off by technology, which they see as culturally empty. Older people especially feel nostalgia for how things used to be done. For example, in the UK, the Royal Family are as popular as ever, and thousands of people turn out to see them wherever they go. It should also be remembered that many of today's global pop stars were themselves inspired by more traditional genres of music. Ed Sheeran, for example, embodies many musical traditions, such as folk music and busking. In the same way, it is still common to see performances of more traditional forms of music, such as classical and jazz. My own opinion is that there is truth in both views. There are certainly people so focused on global trends that there is no space in their lives for, or interest in, preserving the past. On the other hand, there are many who prefer to live their lives more nostalgically and value the traditions that have been handed down. I would say that I belong more to this second group of people, although I admit I would struggle without the internet.