Developing sports facilities is the best way to improve public health, what is your opinion?

Some people say that increasing the number of sports facilities will greatly enhance public health. However, others oppose this view and believe that it will only help to some extent and other more effective measures are required to ensure public health. I strongly support the latter view. There are people who opine that increasing the number of sports facilities will contribute to the betterment of public health. By this initiative, the government can motivate people to participate in various sports and become physically active and mentally fit. For example, sports will help them to burn out their excess calories and also provide an opportunity to interact with others, which in turn, enhance their psycho-social well-being. Having said that, the majority of people believe that sports facilities alone cannot ensure the health of people. This is because the public comprises of people of different age-groups right from infants to seniors and it is not possible to ensure the participation of all of them in sports. On the other hand, facilities like vaccination campaigns, free medical check-up, distribution of health supplements and health education classes at public places will deliver better results. For instance, medical students conduct free health camps at public places on occasions like ‘World Diabetes Day’. Another case in point is the midday meal programme launched by the government of India in 1995. It provides free lunches to students in all government schools with the aim of improving their nutritional status. This scheme has not only encouraged parents to send their child to school but also resulted in enhancement of their health status. Therefore, it is evident that other measures contribute more to public health than sports facilities. To conclude, though sports facilities enhance public health to some extent, other measures such as creating health awareness and offering free or subsidised healthcare are much more effective.