Despite improvements in vehicle technology, there are still large numbers of road accidents. Explain some of the causes of these accidents and suggest some measures that could be taken to address the problem.

In recent times we have seen a huge increase in the number of people who drive. Even though their vehicles are more sophisticated than ever, many people are injured or killed on our roads. This essay will consider why there are so many accidents and suggest ways they could be reduced. Advanced technology undoubtedly makes driving safer but, in many cases, accidents occur through driver error. This may be for several reasons, one of which is inattention at a critical moment caused perhaps by a call on the phone or a conversation with a passenger. Indeed, in the USA, distracted driving is the number one cause of road accidents. In Australia, the problem has become so serious that it is now illegal to use a mobile phone when in charge of a vehicle, even if it is stationary. Another cause of injuries and fatalities on the road is inexperience. In the UK, the number collisions involving 18 to 25-year-olds is more than double those where the driver was over 30. Whether it is because of lack of attention or a small number of years driving on the road, there are ways these and other problems can be mitigated. The first measure that can be taken is to require all newly qualified drivers to attend a driving skills course. Designed to raise drivers’ awareness of dangers in various road situations and teach them how to deal with emergency scenarios, courses like these have been shown to dramatically reduce the accident rate among young drivers. Placing restrictions on new drivers for two to three years has also been successful in many countries in bringing down the frequency of accidents. In Australia, a new driver is restricted in several ways; their speed is limited, they can only take one passenger at a time, and they cannot drink any alcohol nor drive after 10pm. Such initiatives have had considerable success in cutting road accidents. To conclude, the number of deaths and injuries on our roads caused by inattentive or inexperienced drivers will never be entirely eliminated but it need not be so high. Compulsory driver training for new drivers and restrictions on their driving are two ways of lowering the number of road accidents.