Describe the similarities and differences of fashion today and twenty years ago

More than just body coverage, clothes are a self-expressive art form, which we now refer to as fashion. It holds a profound significance as people’s first impression, the way you dress and carry yourself reflects part of your personality. It’s not merely in daily situations where fashion is judged but also in businesses and other official portfolios. Fashion is influenced by factors such as media, culture, social standards and prejudices, all of which change swiftly over time; therefore, the 20-year gap could have a noteworthy impact on how fashion is regarded. In the 2000s, the media was not so advanced and many clothing trends were born out of globalization, the rise of fast fashion (affordable clothes based off runway designs usually found in department stores), movie characters and celebrities’ growing influence as fashion icons. Fashion styles such as Y2K, streetwear, athleisure wear, goth, punk, etc. were noticeable during the 2000s, but most of which are not worth bringing back from obscurity today. Magazines were considered the ‘bible’ for fashion inspiration and new seasonal must-haves. Fashion always has its merits, and plays a vital role in expressing one’s aesthetic eye. It is not just wearing extravagant designer outfits, carrying the most precious jewelry and doing high class makeup. There are ample reasons why fashion is important as it not only makes you look good but above all it is also an expression of art and self in the utmost exotic and mesmerizing way. Things have changed since the launch of social media apps during the start of the 2000s until now. Through the years, social platforms such as Youtube, Facebook, and Instagram have allowed people to easily be exposed to the latest and exotic fashion trends such as red carpet, alt fashion, Lolita, etc. Between modern fashion and the styles from 20 years ago, fashion is still a means of expressing art and one’s self, the only difference is that there is more freedom in the present. Society as a whole has been more open-minded towards social movements like feminism or pride, paving way for more controversial fashion looks such as cross-dress, which people can wear whatever they want no matter their gender, sexuality, and gender identity. For example, men can wear skirts or dresses as long as they feel confident and comfortable with themselves. There shouldn’t be any concern of criticism or baseless sexuality assumptions anymore. In conclusion, fashion is on a never-ending tidal surge of revival and change. Fashion has, in recent times, shifted its dynamics and expanded into people’s daily lives. In the ensuing years, there have been major shifts in technology, politics, culture, and social standards, and fashion has mirrored this in its ever-changing cycle of trend. Still, it has kept the importance and influence of fashion very much alive.