Modern Children Are Suffering From Diseases That Were Once Considered To Be Meant For Adults Only

In the good old days, children used to be fit and healthy. Now we are living in a modern world where many changes have taken place. Children these days are affected by diseases like obesity. There are several factors responsible for it and immediate measures need to be taken. I would discuss both of them in following paragraphs. Firstly, I would say the primary reason for childhood obesity is the consumption of junk foods. The junk food doesn’t offer essential nutrition to the body. Several ingredients used in the junk foods are the root cause of the side effects caused by it. One of them are the preservatives like high levels of sodium and enzymes which has adverse effect on children’s health if consumed regularly. Also, the fillers and toppings used in them like cheese and mayonnaise are of very high fat content and provide very high calories to the body. Secondly, the lack of physical activity among the children is also one of the main reasons for obesity and other health related issues. The amount of calories consumed, should be equally burned to maintain a good physique. The only way for children to achieve this is to engage in physical activity. The possible solution to this problem is to limit children’s consumption of fast food. Parents should monitor the calorie intake of their children. They also need to ensure that their children are served healthy homecooked meals. In addition, schools should ban junk food in their canteens and allocate more hours for physical activity. To conclude, the problem of childhood obesity can be overcome only by limiting children’s consumption of junk food and encouraging them to get physically active.