describe a work of art of the Middle Ages - Van

There are tons of works of art that were produced during the Middle Ages such as metalwork, sculpture, painting, stained glass windows, engraving as well as manuscripts which were basically religious arts with themes and subjects of catholic. Some points who claimed that the manuscript Illumination were not realistic at all, and the artists worked more of the art symbolism, so this created unique and deep impressions in the eyes of a lot of them. Personally, I was also impressed with works of this kind art, especially for “the Lion Symbol of Saint John” from “the Book of Durrow”. Therefore, I will discuss this painting in this essay. Manuscript Illumination was a typical use of pagan interlace in Christian art occurred in the illuminated manuscripts produced by monks in Irish and English monasteries. The main impetus for their style may have originated in Ireland from there it infiltrated England and other parts of Western Europe. “The Lion Symbol of Saint John” from “the Book of Durrow” is a relatively early example of medieval manuscript illumination, and it is covered in classical art that was from the second half of the seventh century (from the 650-700 c). This manuscript originally came from either Ireland or North Umbria in England. The folio represents Saint John the Evangelist as a lion surrounded by a rectangular border filled with interlace although later, Saint John’s symbol was changed to an eagle. The picture depicts a lion with its jaws open and teeth bared as if growling or roaring. Along with the various textures on the body's surface, as well as the red and green diamond formations, which were highlighted by a yellow outline that blends into stylized muscle, and yellow feet. Meanwhile its tail has a less black pattern with green and brown coloring towards the end. Its tail is likewise coiled and coils around the lion's body, giving it a maze-like shape pattern. Furthermore, the way this formidable beast is represented surrounded by lace rectangular borders makes this artwork unique. In my opinion, the art is very distinctive compared to other art genres during this time. The attention to detail as displayed in the “Lion Symbol of Saint John” not only shows the image of the magnificent lion standing boldly alone in the middle but also emphasizes the strength, bravery of this animal's physique through the use of the colors and patterns of its body. The artist also assured to accentuate the rectangular boundaries around the painting with a variety of patterns and colors, but he didn't cover up the lion's representative image. All these characteristics appear to portray Saint John the Evangelist as a great spiritual personality. In conclusion, animal-style Medieval art and classical art have a tremendous impact on each other. It could have been made in a variety of techniques, such as a sculpture, a portrait, or even a ship's pillar. Both of these symbols implied a significant object, particularly a lion and an aspect of something or someone powerful, or who may have been a leader. Each vintage art and animal style was also constructed of various materials and had distinct patterns. The Lion Icon of Saint John is a one-of-a-kind piece of Hiberno-Saxon art, as well as the earliest work of medieval manuscript illumination. Northern European manuscripts developed a visual world that seemed to exist independently of the Greco-Roman tradition's humanistic preferences.