Describe something you did that was new or exciting; you should say: what you did, where and when you did this, who you shared the activity with, and explain why this activity was new or exciting for you

It is widely accepted that reducing crime has a crucial role in increasing public well-being. Over the past few years, crime is becoming more frequent and violent in numerous nations. In this essay, I will demonstrate how the poverty is the main driving factor behind this phenomenon, and some viable measures to mitigate this trend are also outlined below. The foremost culprit of the rise in crimes is poverty. Given that many poor people may be uneducated and lack the necessary skills to find a job, most of them are unemployed. As a corollary, to earn a living, many have had resort to crimes. Besides that, poverty is also the reason why crimes are becoming more violent in nature. For example, according to research published by the Vietnam government, violent crimes involving knives and firearms in the latest decade in Vietnam, especially mass murderers, registered the highest number than any periods in the past. This bears a testament to why crime issues may become worsen with more violent activities. To effectively address the aforementioned issue from the root, I believe that governments should focus on the following measures. To begin with, authorities should put more efforts in solving the unemployment problem which is proven to be inextricably linked to crime. This can be achieved in the foreseeable future by providing their citizens, especially in poverty-stricken regions, with vocational training and more job opportunities. In the long term, governments should attempt to improve their countries’ economies and enhance social stability, which can go a long way towards diminishing the unemployment rate. Simultaneously, crime education should be adopted as a new subject in the school’s curriculum to ensure that younger generations perceive the importance of their compliance with the law. As a part of this scheme, ex-convicts should be invited as speakers who will enlighten students about the lifelong consequences of crime, threrby dispelling criminal intent. In conclusion, I believe that the rise in the number of offences and violence can be ascribed to crippling poverty in many countries, and thus the proposed solutions including the reduction of unemployment and educational teaching methods are both feasible measures to alleviate this phenomenon.