Describe some of the problems overreliance on cars can cause and suggest a possible solution.

In the modern world, humanity's reliance on motorized vehicles has reached levels never seen before in history. With the rise of the developing world, these numbers are only going to continue to swell. It is felt that pollution and the draining of world resources are the most serious problems caused by this trend. Carpooling will be argued a feasible response to these challenges. Firstly, pollution and the reduction of natural resources are major problems caused by human overreliance on cars. For example, the world's collective car exhaust has now dissolved the ozone and raised temperatures so much that certain island nations like the Kiribati may cease to exist. In addition to this, a statistic was recently released stating that there simply is not enough steel in the world to build cars for all of China and India's adults. As these examples show, if humanity's con- sumption of cars is not curbed, it will have extreme repercussions on both pollution and natural resource levels. Thus, something must be done to stop this develop- ment. A suggested solution to the above is carpooling. In many Western countries, for example, reserved lanes make the practice of carpooling attractive, and this has had substantial effects on the levels of exhaust pumped into the atmosphere every day. Thanks to carpooling, it is estimated that car fumes are almost 10% lower today than 5 years ago in countries like the UK and Canada. As this shows, carpooling could be a plausible solution to humanity's overdependence on motorized vehicles. Following this look at the challenges and potential solutions to this topic, it is clear that something has to be done in order to reduce the world's reliance on motor vehicles. It is thus hoped carpooling lanes are introduced in all big cities the world over.