The car is a disastrous 20th Century invention that has made the world’s cities more dangerous and polluted, as well as being responsible for the deaths of millions of people in accidents. Do you agree or disagree?

The car has been considered as a detrimental innovation in the recent decades that has affected our cities in terms of air contamination while, also being accountable for the demise of hundreds of thousands of people in mishaps. Although, the statement is controversial, I agree that the car has been a hazardous creation due to increasing air pollution, traffic jams and accidents. This essay will discuss the aforesaid viewpoints in detain in the impending paragraphs. To begin with, degrading air quality is the biggest threat that cars pose to the environment. Cars while in operation, emits carbon dioxide as well as nitrogen oxide in to the atmosphere, which not only affects the human health but also increases the green-house effect. For Instance, according to a report published by European parliament in 2018, transportation sector is responsible for 30% of EU’s CO2 emission, of which 70% comes from passenger cars alone. Secondly, if we talk about the road accidents, they are also increasing due to the growing number of cars on the roads. Even though, distracted driving has been a leading cause of road accidents, over-speeding and driving under the influence of alcohol also contributes to a large number of mishaps. Many injuries, disabilities even fatalities can occur because of these accidents. According to a press release by Arab media in 2019, on an average as much as, 25 people lose their life daily in road accidents. To conclude, it is a fact that cars have been deteriorating our cities and our environment for decades.