describe process hydro-electric power plant

The figure describes the procedure involved in the generation of electricity in a hydroelectric power station. Overall, the process employed to generate the energy varies during the day and at night; however, the infrastructure remains the same, with two reservoirs at different altitudes, a dam, and a power plant with a generator and turbine. During the day, water from the high-level reservoir, filled by a river, is released from the dam with the intake open. This leads to a downstream flow, which rotates the turbine (placed at the power station), producing electricity. This electric current generated is transmitted to the national grid via power lines from the generator connected to the turbine. Moreover, the water that is turning the turbine is stored in the low-level reservoir. On the contrary, at night, the intake of the dam is closed, and pumps are operated to move water from the low-level reservoir to the high-level reservoir. These pumps pull the water upstream, therefore, rotating the reversible turbine again, in turn generating electric power at the generator.