Write one example of a stereotype about mental health and how it leads to prejudice.

Since time immemorial, stereotypes, the negative assumptions about individuals based on their characteristics of the group to which they belong, have long been a major topic of concern. The purpose of this essay is to discuss about an autism stereotype and how it relates to discrimination. According to Wikipedia, autism can be understood as “a neurodevelopmental disorder characterized by difficulties with social interaction and communication, and by restricted and repetitive behavior”. As a result, autism disorders are often regarded as dangerous, unpredictable and foolish creatures. In fact, the aforementioned problem stems from two main factors. The first and foremost reason is the media and entertainment industry. While fresh reports on the Internet frequently belittle neurodevelopmental disorders acting violently or lubberly, there are few articles that include stories of recovery or positive news about other patients with the same conditions. Consequently, the prejudice has deeply ingrained in the human unconscious. Furthermore, autistic disorders' excitability is also a contributing factor. Autistic individuals are volatile, but only when their own world is breached or they are being insulted by others. Nonetheless, a wide spectrum of individuals misinterpret it and perceive autistic disorders as aggressive and menacing. In conclusion, an autism stigma is caused by a variety of causes, but the most common of which are the media and the emotionality of neurodevelopmental persons.