free transport 24/7 to ease traffic

A lot of people believe that the most effective way to reduce traffic congestion would be the introduction of free 24/7 public transport by the goverment. On the one hand, public transport is arguably the most efficient way for people to get from one place to another in urban areas, especially tram or bus rapid systems. Making public transport available to everyone for free would make it a very convenient and accesible option, in turn clearing the road of passenger cars. One other advantage is the fact that this is a change that could be implemented extremely quickly because the systems are already in use. On the other hand, there is no guarantee that free 24/7 public transport is going to make a change in the amount of cars on the road significant enough to affect congestion. Over the years people have become very accustomed to owning their own personal vehicle and having the freedom to choose their own route and destination, therefore even if public transport becomes free there it is not certain enough people will be willing to abandon their cars. The other extreme outcome would be generating such a sudden spike in demand for public transport that the infrastructure that is in use would not be able to sustain it and in turn worsen the quality of the services and potentially create more congestion. In conclusion, making public transport available for free 24/7 does not guarantee a reduction in traffic congestion, because too many factors play a critical role in the effectiveness of the change. I believe, a safer option, especially long-term, would be developing the infrastructure event though it would require a lot more work and a bigger investment.